Syllabus                        Schedule                        Assignments                        Links

 

The weekly schedule below contains the reading and assignment schedule for this class.  Titles of readings accompanied by a blue hyperlink can be accessed directly online.  We will discuss texts on the days indicated, so make sure that you read them before class.  Take-home exams and critical responses are due at the beginning of class. I will take off half a grade for each day an assignment is turned in late.

Schedule revision 1/13/06

Week

Date

Readings

Work Due

1

Wed Jan 4

Syllabus

Introductions

 

 

Fri Jan 6

Introductions

 

2

Mon Jan 9

Interview with Marshall McLuhan (pdf)  

 

Wed Jan 11

More discussion of McLuhan
 

 

 

Fri Jan 13

More discussion of McLuhan

 

3

Mon Jan 16

MLK CommemorationŚno class

 

 

Wed Jan 18

Ryan and Wentworth, preface and chapter 1, pp. xi-21 (pdf)
 

 

 

Fri Jan 20

Flack "Phones, Games, and Virtual Worlds" (pdf)

Critical Response #1 due

4

Mon Jan 23

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 2, pp. 23-42 (pdf)

 

 

Wed Jan 25

Discussion

 

 

Fri Jan 27

Cunningham, "Re-Thinking Objectivity" (pdf)

 

5

Mon Jan 30

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 3, pp. 43-64

 

 

Wed Feb 1

Bushman & Anderson, "Media Violence and the American Public" (pdf)

 

 

Fri Feb 3

Fowles, "The Whipping Boy" (pdf)

Critical Response #2 due

6

Mon Feb 6

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 4, pp. 65-85

 

 

Wed Feb 8

Discussion

 

 

Fri Feb 10

Jones, "Your TV Is Lying to You" (pdf)

 

7

Mon Feb 13

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 5, pp. 89-118  

 

Wed Feb 15

Discussion

 

 

  Fri Feb 17

Discussion Mid-term Take-Home Exam due

8

Mon Feb 20

President's Day--No class

 

 

Wed Feb 22

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 6, pp. 119-144

 

 

Fri Feb 24

Discussion

 

9

Mon Feb 27

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 7, pp. 145-170
 

 

Wed Mar 1

Discussion  

 

Fri Mar 3

Discussion

Critical Response #3 due

10

Mon Mar 6

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 8, pp. 171-200  

 

Wed Mar 8

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 9, pp. 201-216  

 

Fri Mar 10

Ryan and Wentworth, chapter 10, pp. 217-236
 

 

11

Mon Mar 13

Stepp, "Journalism Without Profit Margins" (pdf) Buy current issue of Atlantic Monthly and bring it to class

 

Wed Mar 15

Sherman, "Going Long, Going Deep" (pdf)
 

 

 

Fri Mar 17

More discussion of Stepp and Sherman

Documentary: Outfoxed
Time and Place TBA
Critical Response #4 due

12

Mon Mar 20

Research Day  

 

Wed Mar 22

Spring Break--no class

 

 

Fri Mar 24

Spring Break--no class

 

13

Mon Mar 27

Discussion of Outfoxed and Lekatsas, "Outfoxed" (pdf)  

 

Wed Mar 29

More discussion of Outfoxed

Documentary: Control Room
Wednesday, 6:30 pm, LA 107

 

Fri Mar 31

Discussion of Control Room and Tribic (pdf)

 

14

Mon Apr 3

Attend lecture in lieu of class  

 

Wed Apr 5

McChesney, preface and chapter 1, pp. 7-56 Critical Response #5 due
Paragraph about lecture due

 

Fri Apr 7

McChesney, chapter 2, pp. 57-97

 

15

Mon Apr 10

McChesney, chapter 6, pp. 210-251

Final Take-Home Exam

 

Wed Apr 12

Instructor at conference--no class

 

 

Fri Apr 14

Instructor at conference--no class

 

16

Mon Apr 17

McChesney, chapter 7, pp. 252-297

 

 

Wed Apr 19

Discussion of take-home exam

 

 

Fri Apr 21

Study DayŚNo class

 

Finals' Week

Wed Apr 26
1 pm

 

 

End-of-term take-home exam due
Final exam in the classroom